Think Out Loud

Thoughts on politics, mostly.

Oh what depressing times October 17, 2008

Filed under: Philosophy,Politics,The role of government — bethanyjc @ 6:16 pm
Tags: ,

I’m a conservative Republican, but mostly I’m just a conservative. I’m not sure what the Republican party is about anymore. Well, I know what I THINK it is about, but not what the Republican “leaders” think it is about. I mean, we have nominated John McCain. Is that because he didn’t betray any expectations? As my husband said, I ended up liking Obama better in Thursday’s debate because he surpassed the very low expectations I had for him. I had somewhat higher expectations for McCain and he didn’t even meet them. Except on issues like taxes. He is right–why should people, any people, pay more taxes right now? Obama said he doesn’t like taxes, but he’s still going to raise them. That is dumb. Be honest. You want to have social programs so you want to raise taxes. You like social programs better than cutting taxes. McCain was right to call him out on that. But McCain: are you going to cut spending too? Anyway, the point is, we should be a party that loves America, hates spending money, is wise, is for traditional marriage, is against pork barrel spending, loves people, stands for what is right, encourages family, is financially prudent and encourages Americans to be as well, has leaders, encourages people to give to each other and take care of each other, is tough on terrorism, defends religion, works to have a small government, communicates with Americans often, helps paint a big picture, helps people understand the relationship between government and the people, defends the family, takes responsibility, owns up, is honest. Yeah, in a perfect world right?